<   Back to News

New Album 'Goldmine' To Be Released May 26

John Anderson will release his new album, Goldmine, on May 26.  Released on his own record label, Bayou Boys Music, the 13-track collection of original material features authentic lyrics and John’s signature sound.  John wrote or co-wrote 12 of the album’s 13 tracks.
Produced by John and longtime collaborator Joe Spivey, Goldmine is an album that was cut with the artist in complete control. “With Goldmine, I thought, first off, I’m going to take my songs into the studio and make a record like I think it ought to be made, without all those other influences,” John says, “I really don’t need a lot of help to make a John Anderson record, and this record pretty much proves that. In fact, I’m more pleased with the sound of this record than I have been in a long time.”
The first single, “I Work a Lot Better” will hit country radio in May and will be available for download at digital retailers. The rocking mid-tempo track is in the style of previous chart-topping hits, such as “Money in the Bank.”
When asked about the single, John said, “Honey Doin’ inspired this one. And Josh Turner, actually it was his idea. Josh is a fine young man, a great talent and a real asset to modern day country music.”
Raised in Apopka, Fla., John grew up listening to both rock and traditional country. In the end, Anderson resisted the call of rock ‘n roll and chose to pursue his country music dreams, and is recognized as one of the greatest country singers to ever step up to the microphone and possesses one of the most instantly identifiable vocal instruments in the history of the genre.
In 1977, Anderson signed with Warner Brothers Records and had his first major hit in 1980 with Billy Joe Shaver’s, “I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be a Diamond Someday).” Other hits include the classic “Wild and Blue” released in 1982, and “Swingin,” the No. 1  Billboard Country single co-written with Lionel Delmore that would lead Anderson to garner the CMA Horizon Award.
During his career he has produced 23 albums with more than 60 singles (20 of which charted in the Top 10). He was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame on October 5, 2014, and holds a wealth of industry awards including Academy of Country Music Career Achievement Award.
When asked about his upcoming album Goldmine, John remarked, “At this point, it’s just for me and the fans. A best case scenario for me is if the fans that have loved our music and supported us for so many years know Goldmine is out there, and how to get it, I’ll be happy.”
John is currently touring heavily throughout the United States. For a complete list of upcoming tour dates, click []here.
For all the latest updates from John, follow him now on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and YouTube.
Goldmine Track Listing and Songwriters:
1. Freedom Isn’t Free (John Anderson/James C. Hicks Sr.)
2. Magic Mama (Merle Haggard)
3. Back Home (John Anderson/Jimmy Stevens/Jeff Farr)
4.Goldmine (John Anderson/Josh Turner)
5. Happily Ever After (John Anderson/James C. Hicks Sr.)
6. I Work Alot Better (John Anderson/Josh Turner)
7. I Will Cross O’er the River (John Anderson)
8. Louisiana Son Of A Beast (John Anderson/Bill Emerson/Jody Emerson)
9. Holdin’ On (John Anderson/Jimmy Stevens/Jeff Farr)
10. Song the Mountain Sings (John Anderson/Buddy Cannon)
11. On And On And On... (John Anderson/Jimmy Fortune)
12. Don’t Forget To Thank the Lord (John Anderson/John Rich)
13. You All Are Beautiful (John Anderson/James C. Hicks Sr.)